Review: Nightlights by Lorena Alvarez Gomez

Every night, tiny stars appear out of the darkness in little Sandy’s bedroom. She catches them and creates wonderful creatures to play with until she falls asleep, and in the morning brings them back to life in the whimsical drawings that cover her room.

One day, Morfie, a mysterious pale girl, appears at school. And she knows all about Sandy’s drawings…Nightlights is a beautiful story about fear, insecurity, and creativity, from the enchanting imagination of Colombian artist, Lorena Alvarez Gomez.

This vibrant and colorful picture book with its lively drawn illustrations has to be one of the most beautiful ones out there. It’s truly a stunner of a book.

So to share my excitement, I decided to include some of my favorite exquisitely drawn pieces:nightlights-1-bookspoils

nightlights-2-bookspoils

nightlights-3-bookspoils

nightlights-4-bookspoils

nightlights-5-bookspoils

nightlights-6-bookspoils

nightlights-7-bookspoils#aesthetic


As much as I adored Nightlights , I did have a few tiny issues with the way the storyline was dived into. The exploration of reality vs. fantasy was a bit confusing, especially with how it ended so openly and abruptly. But since I loved the illustrations so damn much (THIS BOOK IS GORGEOUS!!), I’m giving it a free-pass.

And on a more serious note, I’m in awe of Gomez’s art and talent. For the next few hours, you can find me looking up and staring at every single one of their works .

ARC kindly provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Expected publication: March  14th, 2017

4/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Nightlights, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a comment