My Intimidating TBR Book Tag

This tag (created by Lindsey Rey) had me take a cold, hard look on all the books I still need and want to read… I hope I’ll eventually get to them one by one.tumblr_odi3kbj2oh1r83d7lo10_500Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you want to buy any of the books I mentioned in this post, just click on the images below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

1) What book have you been unable to finish?
It’s been bothering me for awhile now that I haven’t finished Wild. As I mentioned before, I truly loved the first part. But when the focus shifted on Cheryl Strayed’s journey, it started to feel tedious, which took me by surprise granted that I was smitten with those first 50 pages.

What book have you yet to read because…

2) …you just haven’t had the time?
This stunning and life-affirming memoir about a nontraditional mother-daughter relationship, among a plethora of heavy subjects, has been on my TBR for quite awhile now. I am committed to read through it…but I just haven’t had the time. I’ll get there one day.

3) …it’s a sequel?
I really had to dig deep for this one as I don’t tend to leave series unfinished, partly because I don’t read that many series, and partly because when I do pick them up I like to marathon them. So I went with the most recent graphic-novel I want to read: Ms. Marvel, vol 3 by G. Willow Wilson.

4) …it’s brand new?This book appealed to me both for it’s beautiful cover and mysterious synopsis. It came out on  September 6th, so it’s technically considered brand new, right?

5) …you read a book by the same author and didn’t enjoy it?
I recently read Matthew Quick’s Every Exquisite Thing, and didn’t quite enjoy it as much as I was expecting. So now I’m hesitant with wanting to pick up The Silver Linings Playbook, even though I really liked the movie. Jennifer Lawrence’s performance in particular is spectacular, especially in this next scene:

6) …you’re just not in the mood for it?
The Scorpio Races has been on my radar ever since I finished The Raven Cycle back in March/ April of this year, which is quite some time for me. The main reason why I haven’t started is because I’m waiting for the right mood, which again I’m not sure what frame of mind that is. But I’ll wait, and wait, and wait…

7) …it’s humongous?
I’m desperate to get into A Little Life, but every time I pick it up, I seem to give up before I even finish one page. I’m kind of hating myself for it because this seems exactly like the kind of book I need to read right now.

8) …because it was a cover buy that turned out to have poor reviews?
The Girls has been on-and-off my TBR for months now. I haven’t made much progress past the first couple of pages because I read some positive and negative reviews that made me want to both read it and not. I’m still on the fence about it.

9) What is the most intimidating book in your TBR pile?
I picked The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood because it’s a classic feminist read that everyone seems to love to this day. It’s quite intimidating to say the least. But I’ll get there one day… I will.


Those were all the questions for the My Intimidating TBR Pile Tag.
If you’re interested in answering these questions, I tag you.

Leave a Reply

