Review: Moonstruck #1 by Grace Ellis

Moonstruck 3-- bookspoilsI’ve been waiting for the first issue of this comic to drop for months now, so the arrival has been more than satisfying, to say the least.

In Moonstruck we have: Fantasy creatures are living typical, unremarkable lives alongside humans, and barista Julie strives to be the most unremarkable of all. Normal job, normal almost-girlfriend, normal…werewolf transformations that happen when she gets upset? Yikes! But all bets are off when she and her centaur best friend Chet find themselves in the middle of a magical conspiracy.

List of things that wove their way into my heart:

  • The friendship between Julie and Chet, which basically consists of puns and mom-esque advice. Which is to say that their friendship brings this story to vibrant life. Moonstruck 1-- bookspoilsThis is how you get to me because I do the exact same thing when saying goodbye.

Moonstruck 5-- bookspoils#Goals.

  • Chet’s relatable feelings of being head over heels for someone who either doesn’t feel the same way or is just completely clueless about you.

Moonstruck 2-- bookspoils

  • The capturing art really plays to the overarching theme’s strength. I mean, need I say more:Moonstruck 4-- bookspoilsAlso, Cass is definitely another new favorite thanks to the above.
  • The world building in Moonstruck has me immensely intrigued, which rarely happens for me as of late. The whole notion of blending the magical with realism is something I’m always up for, so I’m excited to see what’s next in store for the crew.

4/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Moonstruck #1, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

One thought on “Review: Moonstruck #1 by Grace Ellis

Leave a Reply

