June 2017 Reading Wrap Up

My reading this month was a bit on the slower side for me compared to past wrap ups. I thankfully got to complete some great comics and graphic novels I’ve been looking forward to for ages. But with the novels I had a little trouble finding the right pick.
In total I read 15 books in June:

Honorable Mention:
I watched a revolutionary film called Dangal.

Dangal is an Indian Hindi-language biographical film, spanning multiple decades as former wrestler Mahavir Singh Phogat and his two wrestler daughters struggle towards glory at the Commonwealth Games in the face of societal oppression.

I went into this film not really knowing what to expect, but quickly came to realize that something unusually remarkable about it compelled me to propel through, minute by minute. It’s been ages since I’ve been this lost inside a movie.

Not only was it refreshing to experience my first Bollywood film with feminist undertones, breaking records (and barriers) left and right, the addition of strong and supporting female relationships, kickass music, and complex characters with their own arcs had me all the more enamoured.

I also, as I mentioned at the start, cherished that the time skipping that occurred from decade to decade didn’t feel rushed at all because we spent a good time in each one to feel fleshed out. Speaking of which, getting to watch from the sidelines as our main hero, Geeta Phogat, succeeded and grew into her talent was sensational to experience.

I got a surge of adrenaline from watching her amazing fighting skills.

Another point I loved was the complex familial relationships. The whole film is set solely around exploring and expanding the detailed and complex characters in the Phogat family. With time they all get to grow into fully fleshed, inspirational characters, thanks to the the writing being strong enough that the whole story just breezed by.

And further drove the point home by showing the story unfold amidst the beautiful scenery. A+ cinematography skills.

I had so many epiphanies and realizations while watching Dangal. It was a revolutionary time. I want to watch a hundred more like it.

And here’s the trailer in case you’re intrigued:

Ultimately, I’d highly, highly recommend Dangal to anyone looking for an inspiring, heartfelt film with the addition of many comical moments to lighten the mood.


That was my June wrap-up, thank you for reading!

2 thoughts on “June 2017 Reading Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

