Review: Louis Undercover by Fanny Britt, Isabelle Arsenault

In this powerful new graphic novel from Fanny Britt and Isabelle Arsenault, we meet Louis, a young boy who shuttles between his alcoholic dad and his anxious mom, and who, with the help of his best friend, tries to summon up the courage to speak to his true love, Billie.Louis Undercover 5-- bookspoils

I’ve been eyeing Fanny Britt’s work for awhile now, so I jumped on the opportunity to read her newest release in collaboration with Isabelle Arsenault’s vivid and evocative art. Plus, the promise of exploring a topic as critical and crucial as having an alcoholic parent in graphic novel format had me on my toes.

Speaking of which, here’s some pieces that had the same heart-stopping effect on me:

Louis Undercover 2-- bookspoils

 

Louis Undercover 3-- bookspoils

 

Louis Undercover 4-- bookspoilsThe shop window in the background had me hypnotized.
Louis Undercover 6-- bookspoils

 

Louis Undercover 7-- bookspoils

 

Louis Undercover 8-- bookspoils

 

Louis Undercover 9-- bookspoils

 

Louis Undercover 10-- bookspoilsI weeped when he described her as “a gorgeous cactus.” Nothing but the highest of compliments.

All this to say that the author and illustrator have really outdone themselves with this one. Both the art and the accompanying text had me encompassed within the graphic novel. The tone and themes explored in here delivered everything I wanted, from love to hatred to indifference and so much more.

I’m eager to see what Fanny Britt and Isabelle Arsenault will collaborate on next; you can count on me to keep up.

ARC kindly provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Expected publication: October 1st, 2017

3.5/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Louis Undercover, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

