Review: Deep Dark Fears by Fran Krause

Disclaimer: I had to read this with the lights on.

Truth to be told, the more I think about this collection, the more I recall how much I actually enjoyed reading it, which was the last emotion I was anticipating to feel with this read. Deep Dark Fears explores our odd, creepy, and hilariously singular fears. Animator, illustrator, and cartoonist Fran Krause brings these fears to life in vividly illustrated comics based on real fears submitted by readers (plus a few of his own).

I didn’t have any expectations going into this, except maybe worrying that the fears in here wouldn’t be relatable or dark enough for me, but they were both…and so much more. Like, I was so engrossed that I jumped out of my skin about halfway through when I heard a dripping sound from the shower head in the bathroom next door.

I’m also laughing at myself for researching earlier today about experiencing better dreams, but then deciding to read this book of fears at night when it clearly stated on the website the need to “destress” before bed… And there being a lot of talk about ghosts probably wasn’t the best to read at nighttime, or was it?

Anyway, all this is to say that I had a devilishly fun time reading this collection of 101 comics that explores our most gruesome, hilarious, and bizarre fears — and the dangers lurking around every corner.
Here are some of my favorites:

Deep Dark Fears 1-- bookspoils

 

Deep Dark Fears 2-- bookspoils

 

Deep Dark Fears 3-- bookspoilsI’m this close to having an exstitensial crisis with the above.

Deep Dark Fears 4-- bookspoils

 

Deep Dark Fears 5-- bookspoilsGenuinely had a conversation with my mom about this afterwards.

Deep Dark Fears 6-- bookspoilsThe above made me laugh because I usually try to do the opposite, so they don’t have time to hide…

Deep Dark Fears 7-- bookspoilsDeep Dark Fears 8-- bookspoilsThis low-key fucked with my head.

Deep Dark Fears 9-- bookspoilsDeep Dark Fears 10-- bookspoils

 

Deep Dark Fears 11-- bookspoilsOk. So I can clearly see the number six in here, but I can’t catch anything in the below…Deep Dark Fears 12-- bookspoils I’ve been looking for ages now.


All in all: Deep Dark Fears was quite the revelation for me. And since I don’t do well with scary stuff, I’m interested to see how I’ll do after this…

4/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Deep Dark Fears, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

One thought on “Review: Deep Dark Fears by Fran Krause

  1. tasya @ the literary huntress says:

    This looks interesting! The birthmark one, I guess it’s some kind of superstition because I’ve heard about it a lot, but I do the same thing with opening my eyes like you, and the coma one also gave me an existensial crisis 😀 Can’t wait to read this, thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

