Review: This Impossible Light by Lily Myers

From the YouTube slam poetry star of “Shrinking Women” (more than 5 million views!) comes a novel in verse about body image, eating disorders, self-worth, mothers and daughters, and the psychological scars we inherit from our parents.

I’ve listened to Myers slam poem countless times in the past, so I was beyond ecstatic to see her name grace the cover of this novel in verse. And just like her spoken word hit me harder than I expected, so did This Impossible Light.

The story begins with Ivy starting her sophomore year of high school after a hard-hitting summer where everything changed in her life: her parents’ divorce, her older brother, Sky, moving out, her best friend, Anna, being back from her three-month visit in Paris, but still feeling miles away.

Hoping for a fresh start with the new school year, Ivy quickly discovers that things aren’t always as simple as they seem. And with so many things in life being out of her control, Ivy decides to take hold of the one thing she can dictate: her body.

“If I tell you,
will you listen?”

This powerful exploration of body image, depression, eating disorders, loneliness is guaranteed to stay in my memory for a long, long time to come. Its relentless truth felt like a much-needed and healing read for my past self.

And as always, my favorite show, Skam, was brought to mind with the mentions of these topics. But with this book I just wished we could’ve gotten a similar scene as the one of Vilde and Noora noticing and supporting one other through their struggles in season two:

Also, this:

Our main character was drifting away from everyone and rarely speaking, and it physically hurt me to see her go through all of it alone. Which reminds me of another fitting quote from the aforementioned TV series: tumblr_oj701nqbcs1vlgbnoo6_r1_400Lily Myers takes notices of the small pains and little lonelinesses I’ve felt so strongly in the past, and it really shook me to my core to experience them now through Ivy. Also, the top-notch writing and poetry in this book was utterly phenomenal, and I just want to shout it from the rooftops. But for now, I’ll settle with sharing some of my favorite bits and pieces in here:

This Impossible Light 1-- bookspoils

 

This Impossible Light 2-- bookspoils

 

This Impossible Light 3-- bookspoilsThis really hit me hard.

This Impossible Light 4-- bookspoils

 

This Impossible Light 5-- bookspoils

 

This Impossible Light 6-- bookspoils

 

This Impossible Light 7-- bookspoils


All in all: This was a surprising read for me since I wasn’t expecting to love so damn much about it, like the fact that it focused solely on Ivy’s journey without adding any unnecessary romances into it. And the fact that we got to see her process towards recovery with the help of family and friends. Plus, it was a quick read because of the poetry format. I was mesmerized, to say the least.

ARC kindly provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Expected publication: June 6th, 2017

5/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying This Impossible Light, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

