Review: The One Hundred Nights of Hero by Isabel Greenberg

The One Hundred Nights of Hero 15-- bookspoilsIn the Empire of Migdal Bavel, Cherry is married to Jerome, a wicked man who makes a diabolical wager with his friend Manfred: if Manfred can seduce Cherry in one hundred nights, he can have his castle–and Cherry.
But what Jerome doesn’t know is that Cherry is in love with her maid Hero.The One Hundred Nights of Hero 1-- bookspoils

I genuinely feel like this graphic novel was made just for me. It contains nearly everything I’ve grown to love in books, such as tales of families, Gods, humans and human-ness, love and betrayal, kings, dancing, moons, sisters, empowering women that support one another, a loving f/f ship, dissing disgusting men (I lived for this!!), and so much more.

Also, so many of the tales Hero told to keep Manfred’s dick in his pants were some of my favorites: from the League of Secret Storytellers to the story of falling in love with the moon to a retelling of the Twelve Dancing Princesses. These strange and fanciful tales full of bold, clever and crafty women completely enamoured my heart. It also reminded me a lot of Renée Ahdieh’s The Wrath & the Dawn with that I always wanted more and more of the tales told by the narrator.

The One Hundred Nights of Hero 9-- bookspoils

So without further ado, here are some of my favorite moments:

The One Hundred Nights of Hero 3-- bookspoils

 

The One Hundred Nights of Hero 4-- bookspoilsI was so pleasantly surprised by the subtle humor thrown in here!

The One Hundred Nights of Hero 12-- bookspoils

 

The One Hundred Nights of Hero 5-- bookspoilsThe art in here with its dark lines and colors really managed to enhance the gloomy atmosphere in certain tales.

And on to my favorite story from this graphic novel: the story of the moon and a mortal man falling in love.The One Hundred Nights of Hero 6-- bookspoils

 

The One Hundred Nights of Hero 7-- bookspoils

 

The One Hundred Nights of Hero 8-- bookspoilsThe reason why I cherished this story so much was mainly because of Sokka and Yue from Avatar. I watched their love story years and years ago, but to this day it remains one of the most tragic ones out there for me.

Honestly, my heart breaks a tiny bit every time I recall their adoration and tenderness for one another.

But moving on to the actual story and the love between Cherry and Hero:
The One Hundred Nights of Hero 10-- bookspoilsI was immensely proud of Cherry in this moment. To see her stand up for her love and beliefs was beyond gratifying. Also, A+ for her clapback.

The One Hundred Nights of Hero 11-- bookspoilsYES!

The One Hundred Nights of Hero 13-- bookspoilsTheir ending, however, left me a bit bewildered. I can’t quite gather if it’s a tragic one or not… I mean, they’re still together, but also not really?? To be completely honest, I don’t even know what’s exactly went on, but… the art is beautiful:

The One Hundred Nights of Hero 14-- bookspoils


All in all, I’m beyond grateful to have finally read this epic graphic novel by the immsenly talented Isabel Greenberg. And I’m hopefully onto The Encyclopedia of Early Earth next!

4.5/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying The One Hundred Nights of Hero, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

