Review: Saga, Vol. 7 by Brian K. Vaughan

Finally reunited with her ever-expanding family, Hazel travels to a war-torn comet that Wreath and Landfall have been battling over for ages. New friendships are forged and others are lost forever in this action-packed volume about families, combat and the refugee experience.

I was worried going into this considering the fact that it’s been a hot minute since I read the previous volume. But I needn’t have worried, the world Vaughan has created in the Saga series is one easily slipped back into. And if I could sum up this read in one panel, I think Hazel said it best:

Saga, Vol. 7 1-- bookspoilsThis review contains *spoilers*.

So let’s jump right into business:

  • We’re in the middle of war throughout these issues, so people are being killed off left and right… And it was just utterly heart-shattering. So many characters I’ve grown attached to were taken from me far too soon.
  • Speaking of, I’m still shell-shocked that my all-time favorite sacrificed herself for the “greater good” all thanks to one of my least favorite characters:
    Saga, Vol. 7 3-- bookspoilsI get choked up every time I think about this.
  • There’s also a lot of tension simmering between everyone, which is completely understandable under their strained circumstances, but still hard to take in.
    Saga, Vol. 7 2-- bookspoilsOh, I definitely was. But Hazel and Izabel have such a powerful dynamic with one another that it physically hurt me to see them like this… for the last time, nonetheless.

Saga, Vol. 7 4-- bookspoilsHazel has experienced so much damn grief in her young life, and I just can’t bear to see her hurt anymore. It’s like every time she gains a new positive force in her life, she ends up losing someone or something else.Saga, Vol. 7 11-- bookspoilsHer commentary, though heartbreaking, remains to be one of my favorite aspects about this series.

  • On a more uplifting note (if that’s even possible with Saga), the art in here is as stunning as ever:Saga, Vol. 7 5-- bookspoilsSaga, Vol. 7 6-- bookspoils
  • The humor in this series remains to be superb in lightening up the blue mood.Saga, Vol. 7 8-- bookspoilsP.S. I’m forevermore grateful those bastards in the red coat got what they deserved.
  • I was beyond ecstatic to have finally met Gwendolyn’s wife!!Saga, Vol. 7 10-- bookspoils Simply a master of words.
  • And to end this list, I adored how the first issue in this volume had some lively fanart included at the end, especially this one for Izabel:Saga, Vol. 7 12-- bookspoilsI agree wholeheartedly with Hernandez about Izabel, particularly the very first line which couldn’t have better described her: “Izabel is the perfect representation of three things I’ve always felt reassured by: fluorescent pink, guardian ghosts, and intestines.” 

So with all that happened in this single volume, I’m still having to wrap my mind around everything. I genuinely feel like Hazel in this panel:

Saga, Vol. 7 7-- bookspoilsIf nothing else, Vaughan knows how to keep me on the edge better than anyone else. And as usual, I cannot wait for what’s in store next.

4/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Saga, Vol. 7 , just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

