Review: Spell on Wheels, Vol. 1 by Kate Leth

Spell on Wheels, Vol. 1 9-- bookspoilsThis graphic novel follows three young witches – Jolene, Claire and Andy, respectively – heading out on an East Coast road trip to retrieve their stolen belongings and track down the mysterious thief before he can do any damage to—or with—their magical possessions.

And this is now my second (favorite) read where the main character overthrows her jerk of an abusive ex boyfriend, who’s also coincidently called Nathan. I love it. Speaking of which, Spell on Wheels throws in so many of my favorite elements together:

  • diversity.
  • the occult.
  • witches.
  • f/f ships.
  • supportive and positive friendships between girls.
  • road trips.
  • notable humor.
  • feminism and calling out men on their sexism (!!!)
  • vibrant and colorful art. #aesthetic
  • JUST SO MUCH GOOD STUFF.

So I’m beyond excited to next share those cherished moments I mentioned above:
Spell on Wheels, Vol. 1 2-- bookspoils

Spell on Wheels, Vol. 1 3-- bookspoils

Spell on Wheels, Vol. 1 4-- bookspoils

Spell on Wheels, Vol. 1 5-- bookspoilsClaire is #goals.
Spell on Wheels, Vol. 1 6-- bookspoilsI included the above simply for the “H… Hi?” because it reminded me of that noteworthy Skam moment between Noora and Eva:

Which reminds me that there was another Skam moment in here that I absolutely adored: the usage of the ouija board.
Spell on Wheels, Vol. 1 8-- bookspoilsIconic:

But circling back to the lively characters in this graphic novel, my favorite one remains to be Jolene Nguyen with her gorgeous name and tattoos:Spell on Wheels, Vol. 1 7-- bookspoilsShe had some of the best scenes!!! Between handling her technopathic abilities, kissing girls and producing striking one-liners, it was hard not to get swept up in my love for her.

Plus, as I mentioned before, the art in here is just… so enthralling and fitting to the atmosphere. And I’m forevermore grateful that the style didn’t change throughout this volume.

Spell on Wheels, Vol. 1 10-- bookspoilsThese two eye-catching panels remain to be my favorite.

Spell on Wheels, Vol. 1 14-- bookspoilsThey showed that bastard Nathan exactly what they’re made of, just like they’d promised.

And last but not least, Claire hitting it off with a certain someone made me giddy with excitement when I realized just how much their budding romance reminded me of Scarlet and Wolf from TLC.Spell on Wheels, Vol. 1 11-- bookspoils

Spell on Wheels, Vol. 1 12-- bookspoilsDiscussions on Beauty and the Beast is something I’m always up for.


All in all: Though it took me a bit time to get into the story because of some info-dumps at the start, I’m more than glad I stuck with it. Spell on Wheels is guaranteed to stay with me for awhile to come.

Also, I loved listening to this enthralling song while flipping from page to page:

Expected publication: June 20th, 2017 

4.5/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Spell on Wheels, Vol. 1, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

4 thoughts on “Review: Spell on Wheels, Vol. 1 by Kate Leth

  1. Danya @ Fine Print says:

    This sounds so good!! I will forever be here for media that features witchy friends on a road trip, and Kate Leth is a creator that I really respect too(I loved Power Up). Also…what is Skam?! How have I not heard of this?? I am about to fall down a seriously television binge rabbit hole.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookspoils says:

      Same here about featuring witchy friends in media!! Also, Skam is this phenomenal Norwegian tv series I’ve been obsessed with over the past months, so much so that I ended up creating a book tag centered around the characters (which I’ve coincidently tagged in this review). 🙂

      Like

  2. LairOfBooks says:

    Wonderful review Natalie! It’s rare when I come across graphic novel reviews & when I see a Dark Horse graphic novel, I can’t resist! Jolene Nguyen seems liek my kinda character, the types I end up falling for cuz they don’t conform & blaze their own path to bad a**ery! also LOVING the color scheme & graphics *heart eyes* thank you for reviewing 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

