Review: Lace Bone Beast by N.L. Shompole

Here is emptiness. Here is a mouth after a recent excavation, black with soot, devoid of kisses. Here are hands, trembling against the soft ache of morning, here are eyes, wet, wide, half-full of sky and loneliness. Here is belly, back, femur, spine, ragged and smooth all at once, all at once. Here are dreams, ink black and speckled, lost behind the eyes. Here is a muted elegy, crow’s feet feathered over the eyes like lace. Here are the last strains of a dirge, wild, discordant, free.

This collection of richly layered poems discussing forgiveness, self-worth, survival, healing, love and sorrow was a mixed bag for me. Some I liked and felt deeply in my heart, while others went completely over my head. As a result, I ended up loosing my interest bit by bit, until I’d stumble upon a new poem that resparked my love…

On that note, here are the pieces that left me with a profound feeling inside:

lace-bone-beast-1

lace-bone-beast-2

lace-bone-beast-3

lace-bone-beast-4

lace-bone-beast-5

lace-bone-beast-6

lace-bone-beast-7

lace-bone-beast-8

lace-bone-beast-11

lace-bone-beast-9

lace-bone-beast-12-bookspoils

That last sentence pierced right through my heart.


If nothing else, Lace Bone Beast managed to remind me of how much I love poetry collections, which I’m grateful for I’m excited to pick up more in the near future!

Oh, and I also listened to this amazing song thanks to Skam:

ARC kindly provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

4/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Lace Bone Beast, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!lace-bone-beast-bookspoils

Leave a Reply

