Review: Second Generation by Michel Kichka

This is an autobiographical tale in which Michel Kichka goes back over the significant moments of a childhood, an adolescence, and a life overshadowed by the Holocaust, from Belgium to The Promised Land, from nightmares to funny anecdotes, moments of joy and liberation.

Second Generation hit unexpectedly home at multiple parts for me, especially regarding Kichka’s childhood growing up in Belgium. It’s quite funny because I had just talked with my mother about how my school experience in Belgium went. And then I pick this graphic novel up a few hours later, and I see my reality depicted nearly the same through someone else’s eyes… Crazy how the world works sometimes.

So it goes without saying that Second Generation has taken a special part in my heart. But regardless of my sentimental values, this was also a genuinely great graphic novel that filled in a lot of blank spaces I had about the Holocaust, Judaism, and even life in general. Also, the humor thrown in here was so unexpected but greatly appreciated.

Here are some of the moments that made me either cry, laugh or something in-between:

second-generation-2-bookspoils

second-generation-3-bookspoils

 

second-generation-4-bookspoils

 

second-generation-5-bookspoils

 

second-generation-6-bookspoils

 

second-generation-7-bookspoils

 

second-generation-8-bookspoils

 

second-generation-9-bookspoils

 

second-generation-10-bookspoils

 

second-generation-11-bookspoils

 

second-generation-12-bookspoils

 

second-generation-13-bookspoilsMaus was mentioned here!!

second-generation-15-bookspoils

 

second-generation-16-bookspoils


The only negative thing being that the pacing was a bit difficult to keep up with because of the time jumping, but other than that Second Generation was a spectacular take on family and intertwining histories that I’ll continue to reference (especially to my mom) and treasure for quite some time.

4.5/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Second Generation, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

