Review: Girl Hearts Girl by Lucy Sutcliffe

I’ve been interested in reading more delightful and thoughtful stories to lift up my spirits a bit after A Little Life. And Girl Hearts Girl arrived at just the right time. I actually felt more alive while reading it.

An inspiring, uplifting and sympathetic story about sexuality and self-acceptance, Lucy Sutcliffe’s debut memoir is a personal and moving coming out story. It tackles a diverse range of subjects such as “love and acceptance over hatred, bigotry and homophobia,” anxiety, coming-of-age, loving oneself, long-distance relationships, feminism, toxic friendships, fangirling over Harry Potter, and more.

Lucy Sutcliffe walks us chronologically through her life, and I loved getting to see her grow and accept herself slowly but surely. I also adored those moments when she opened up to her loved ones about her sexuality. Just her honest take on such a vulnerable moment made my heart warm. I have only love for Lucy Sutcliffe.

Here are a few of those instances and more:

On coming out to her parents via email:

“I’ve received criticism, having retold this story to people, that coming out in an email is “chickening out.” I believe whole-heartedly that this is not the case – quite the opposite. The bottom line is, coming out is an incredibly personal thing. Absolutely no one should have a say in how you go about it, except you. It’s a choice you have to make, and you do it when you feel ready and comfortable, in the way you deem fit. There is no wrong or right way, and it should never be rushed. Take all the time you need.”

REALLY IMPORTANT!!!

I also want to thank this book for mentioning a TV show called The L Word that I plan on binge-watching this weekend. I mean, after this vibrant description how can I not be intrigued:

“I was enthralled. When the characters cried, I cried. When they laughed, I laughed. I became utterly invested in their storylines. They were like the gay best friends I never had. I felt suddenly connected, and more importantly, I felt at ease. Here was a group of women, living ordinary, happy, successful lives, while embracing their sexualities. Through this show that I’d happened upon just by chance, I was suddenly learning about things like equality, women’s rights, and feminism. My mind had been blown – I didn’t know half of these concepts even existed. ”

Sounds exactly like the kind of show I would love.

And then the second part of this book focused a bit more on her long distance relationship with Kaelyn, which was just heart-warming to see her find someone she could be completely herself with. I also love how Kaelyn was the first person Lucy came out to. And I think it was absolutely wonderful how we could experience them meeting up for the first time in both visual and written media:

However, I feel a little unsure if I should continue talking about their relationship as they have broken up recently. I knew going into this that they had gone each their own way, but it was still kind of heart-breaking.

Still, Girl Hearts Girl is a story filled with tenderness, love, honesty, and achingly realness. I’ll always cherish this quick, but long lasting read.

4/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Girl Hearts Girl, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

