Review: Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick

“Maybe, thought Ben, we are all cabinets of wonders.” 

I’ve been wanting to read this beauty of a book for ages now, so when I saw it on the shelves of my library, I was beyond ecstatic.

Wonderstruck jumps back and forth between the lives of Ben and Rose, who live fifty years apart from each other. It follows how both of them miss someone important and quite mysterious in their lives. Ben longs of finding and meeting the father he never met, while Rose is more focused on following a certain famous silent actress that she has an important connection with.

Ben’s story is told solely through writing, while Rose’s is told through Selznick’s gorgeous illustrations. Ben’s story in words, Rose’s in pictures, come together in deafness. And I loved how the author made their intertwining histories flow so smoothly.

I also really appreciated how Selznick tackled the subject and history of deafness in the United States. It made me want to research it for myself and get more educated than I was before, which I always welcome in books.

And as I said earlier about those brilliant illustrations, here are some of my personal favorites:wonderstruck-1-bookspoilswonderstruck-3-bookspoilswonderstruck-4-bookspoilswonderstruck-5-bookspoilswonderstruck-6-bookspoilswonderstruck-7-bookspoilswonderstruck-8-bookspoilswonderstruck-9-bookspoilswonderstruck-10-bookspoilswonderstruck-11-bookspoilswonderstruck-2-bookspoilsAlso, I loved the shout-out to the song “Space Oddity” in this book. It perfectly fit the mood Wonderstruck was giving out.

3.5/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Wonderstruck, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

