Review: March, Book One by John Lewis

This has been on my TBR for so long, I still can’t believe I have it in my hands. March: Book One is a vivid first-hand account of John Lewis’ lifelong struggle for civil and human rights, meditating in the modern age on the distance traveled since the days of Jim Crow and segregation. Rooted in Lewis’ personal story, it also reflects on the highs and lows of the broader civil rights movement.

I had such high expectations build up in my head, and I can now say that this book was truly everything I wanted it to be.

  • John Lewis’ childhood memories transported me like I was standing right there.
  • first person account of growing up in the south.
  • the illustrations were incredible.
  • unquestionably informative.
  • tackles a variety of situations such as: bus boycotts, war resistance, nonviolence, and more.
  • crucially important timeline.

And as I mentioned before about the illustrations, I would love to share some of my favorite picks:march-1-bookspoilsmarch-2-bookspoilsmarch-4-bookspoilsmarch-5-bookspoilsmarch-6-bookspoils

march-8-bookspoils

march-9-bookspoilsmarch-11-bookspoilsOverall, March had me completely immersed into the vivid and evocative life of John Lewis. And I’m onto book two  as I’m writing this.

4/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying March: Book One, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

