Review: Paper Girls, Vol. 2 by Brian K. Vaughan

The second volume opens up with the girls finding themselves launched from 1988 to a distant and terrifying future: June, 2016.paper-girls-vol-2-6-bookspoilsHowever, they quickly notice that their friend KJ is missing and set out to find her with the help of future Erin Tieng.paper-girls-vol-2-10-bookspoilsAlong the way they encounter some difficulties that make them question who they can trust in the present or future. Side note: the Paper Girls issues are almost impossible to put down. I kept thinking, “after this issue, I’m going to get up…no, after this issue…”

Plus, I have to mention that the art in this volume was just stunningly beautiful, especially the coloring. It sets the mood just right:
paper-girls-vol-2-13-bookspoilspaper-girls-vol-2-14-bookspoilspaper-girls-vol-2-5-bookspoilspaper-girls-vol-2-15-bookspoilspaper-girls-vol-2-16-bookspoilsAnd since it’s June 2016, there’s a little politics thrown in for good measure:paper-girls-vol-2-12-bookspoilsIt kind of hurts to read now that the election’s over.

Also, am I wrong to assume that Mac and Tiff (my favorites) are going to become canon?
I mean:paper-girls-vol-2-17-bookspoilsAnd:paper-girls-vol-2-18-bookspoilsthumbs up while choking back tears I’m rooting for them.


I’m beyond curious to find out the fates of this young quartet. And I’m over the moon excited for volume three to come out!!

4/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Paper Girls, Vol. 2, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

