Review: Giant Days 2016 Holiday Special by John Allison

Giant Days Holiday Special is set in a parallel universe where it asks and answer the question: What if Susan, Esther, and Daisy hadn’t become friends on their first day of university? The world as we know it would be completely different! Or at least…moderately different.giant-days-2016-holiday-special-1-bookspoilsBy-the-bye, I love that my favorite – Daisy – got to narrate this special edition. giant-days-2016-holiday-special-2-bookspoilsIt’s a little early for me to get excited about the holidays, but the Giant Days group know how to get me.

I was expecting a nice story about friendship and destiny and all that jazz… But I was left feeling confused. This edition decides to focus instead on Esther ending up with a group of “mean girls,” which left me pondering if we were supposed to believe that these group of girls were being mean just for the sake of it? Because that story has been told countless times, and I’ve gradually lost interest for such characterization.

I mean:giant-days-2016-holiday-special-4-bookspoilsAnd:giant-days-2016-holiday-special-10-bookspoilsIt just seemed pointless to me to have introduced these characters if they weren’t brought to life.giant-days-2016-holiday-special-5-bookspoilsDon’t get me wrong, this was definitely a nice little surprise for the holidays, but there were a lot of plot holes that I needed to overlook in order to fully enjoy this special Giant Days Holiday Edition.

However, I still loved Daisy aka the mom friend we all need and love.giant-days-2016-holiday-special-8-bookspoilsgiant-days-2016-holiday-special-9-bookspoilsgiant-days-2016-holiday-special-14-bookspoilsAnd I’m still super excited for volume four to arrive soon. Overall, these group of friends are very near and dear to my heart.

3.5/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Giant Days 2016 Holiday Special, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

