October 2016 Reading Wrap Up

A recent discussion on diverse reads motivated me to change the way I run my reviews, with a renewed focus on inclusiveness.
Also thanks to said eye-opening discussion, I found a lot of new favorites this month. I’m definitely going to continue incorporating diverse media in my life.
In total I read 19 books in the month of October.

Books I haven’t stopped thinking about:bad-feminist-bookspoils
Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay.

As I mentioned in my review of this book, I was struggling with finding a feminist book that wasn’t heavily focused on either privileged males and/ or sexual assaults. So when I found Bad Feminist, I was beyond ecstatic. Roxane Gay’s essays left a profound mark on me.

Favorite current song:
Lady Gaga released a new album this month called Joanne, and it has pretty much taken over my daily life.
So far, my most played song has been Million Reasons because her vocals in it kill me.

Honorable Mention:

tumblr_ofalnxfhtp1qlq3doo2_500“There’s no dying. There’s no you or me or them. It’s just us.”

I started watching and completely fell in love with This is Us. I started feeling attached to this family of incredible individuals upon watching the second episode. The show is beautiful, authentic and full of heart.

This is Us is about the family lives and connections of several people who all share the same birthday and the ways in which they’re similar and different.

In case you haven’t seen it, here’s the trailer:

It’s really been awhile since I’ve found a show that made me feel eager for each episode to come. I mean, the only thing I’ve been watching each week for the past few years has been Grey’s Anatomy, so I’m glad I have something new to look forward to.

Also, my love for Kate is never-ending.

tumblr_oexyhcp2vt1u4ypbyo1_250tumblr_oexyhcp2vt1u4ypbyo2_250tumblr_oexyhcp2vt1u4ypbyo3_250tumblr_oexyhcp2vt1u4ypbyo4_250


That was my October wrap-up, thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

