Review: Strong Is the New Pretty by Kate T. Parker

Strong Is the New Pretty is the kind of book I would’ve loved to have given to my younger self. It’s a photographic celebration of girls being themselves, which in itself sounds incredible… I’m seriously tearing up just thinking about how much love I have for this collection. Reading it was like coming home, in a lot of ways.

You know, how sometimes you just need some all-powerful woman to tell you everything’s going to be okay… this collection was it—it gave me hundreds of those fierce gals and so much more.

I’m just so glad that I randomly decided to pick it up before going to bed. Nothing, and I mean nothing, could’ve cheered me up as much as Strong Is the New Pretty. I really and truly needed this in my life.

The incredible girls and young women featured here inspired me to be my best-self. And I wish that everyone could just read this like right now!!! You need this in your life.

“What I learned from these girls is not to get caught up in the idea of “being fearless,” just act fearless.
Fear is normal, but you can’t let it stop you from doing what you want to do.”

And so I decided to share some of the fiercely intelligent and spirited young women that left me starstruck:strong-is-the-new-pretty-1-bookspoilsstrong-is-the-new-pretty-2-bookspoilsstrong-is-the-new-pretty-6-bookspoilsstrong-is-the-new-pretty-4-bookspoilsstrong-is-the-new-pretty-7-bookspoilsstrong-is-the-new-pretty-8-bookspoilsstrong-is-the-new-pretty-9-bookspoilsstrong-is-the-new-pretty-10-bookspoilsstrong-is-the-new-pretty-3-bookspoilsstrong-is-the-new-pretty-11-bookspoilsstrong-is-the-new-pretty-12-bookspoilsstrong-is-the-new-pretty-13-bookspoilsstrong-is-the-new-pretty-14-bookspoilsstrong-is-the-new-pretty-15-bookspoilsstrong-is-the-new-pretty-16-bookspoilsAnd as if this collection couldn’t get any better, it decides to feature my favorite place: the beach!!strong-is-the-new-pretty-17-bookspoilsstrong-is-the-new-pretty-18-bookspoils“I daydream a lot. My parents call it “Ella World.” I think up some really cool things.”
Ella, age 9.


I’m just overwhelmed with joy right now. This was some serious girl-power. And I wasn’t anticipating to read this collection so quickly, but I did… and now I cannot imagine what I did without it, which I know sounds over-the-top, but this was everything. Everything.

Also, the pictures!!! They are simply too gorgeous, I can’t stop staring at them. I even ended up showing some to my mom and little sister because I couldn’t stop gushing about how astonishing they are.

5/5 stars

ARC kindly provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Strong Is the New Pretty, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

