Review: Bitch Planet, Vol. 1 by Kelly Sue DeConnick

screen-shot-2016-09-19-at-20-40-39This review contains *spoilers*.

I was feeling a bit under the weather these past few days, so this came at the perfect time for me to read and escape into.

In a future not so far away, troublesome and offensive women are jettisoned to the off-world penitentiary commonly referred to as Bitch Planet.

There’s an incredible variety of characters that brought this volume to life, with my personal favorites being Kamau Kogo and Penny Rolle (issue three was my favorite because Penny got to be the star).bitch-planet-6-bookspoilsHer backstory was one of the most interesting ones!!

Meanwhile, Kamau Kogo is tasked with pulling together a team of prisoners to compete in the all-male sport known as Megaton.bitch-planet-1-bookspoilsYes, you did!

The women in this one were definitely the highlight, so when the focus shifted a bit from them, I kept losing my motivation to continue. I just personally loved the volume  more when it didn’t focus on the tedious men in “charge.”screen-shot-2016-09-19-at-20-53-02And another thing: I wasn’t expecting this graphic novel to be so enlightening, but it handled a lot of topics in the most informative way. It’s similar to one of my favorite shows – Orange Is the New Black – in that way. They even both had a terrible cliff-hanger at the end… screen-shot-2016-09-19-at-20-57-35No one is safe.

Seriously, damn that ending… the only silver lining is that the next volume comes out in October.

And my only other (tiny) complaint is that I would’ve liked for more of a background on all the incredible women in this volume. So I’m hoping that will happen in volume two.

Also, feminism in graphic novels? Yes and more, please.
screen-shot-2016-09-19-at-20-57-14Overall, I’m really glad that I picked up this volume and cannot wait for what’s to come next!

4/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Bitch Planet, Vol. 1, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

