July 2016 Reading Wrap Up

I read a lot of big books this month, which I’m more than happy with. It’s really been a while since I’ve finished multiple hefty stories, but July brought it all back.
In total I read 13 books this month:

  • Books I haven’t stopped thinking about:
    Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray. This book was absolutely phenomenal, and it left me reeling for more. An instant favorite of mine.
  • What I’m currently reading:
    Night Film by Marisha Pessl.10112885 I wasn’t so sure with this one, since I rarely – if ever – pick up thrillers. But I’ve read only praise after praise (and the book features images!!), so I decided to take my shot.

 

 

Honorable Mention:
I rewatched my favorite movie of all time: Joy.

tumblr_nzqujigte11ru72gvo1_500

And it impacted me that much more the second time around. I actually had to stop watching for a minute because I didn’t want to cry too much.

Joy tells the story of Joy Mangano, a broke single mother of two whose invention of the self-wringing Miracle Mop helped make her a millionaire 50 times over.

It features incredible relationships between families, friends, and women. I hold this movie very close to my heart, the impact it made on me (and my mom) will forever stay with me.

tumblr_o5zl9yyjko1v4a8wfo3_1280tumblr_o5zl9yyjko1v4a8wfo1_1280tumblr_o5zl9yyjko1v4a8wfo2_1280

In case you haven’t watched it yet, here’s the trailer:


That was my July wrap up, thank you for reading!

One thought on “July 2016 Reading Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

