Review: Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai

“I’m practicing
to be seen.”

This book grabbed my attention with its beautiful cover, and I’m really glad that it did. Inside Out and Back Again tells the tale of Kim Hà and her journey during wartime in Vietnam.

Hà and her family are forced to flee as Saigon falls, and they board a ship headed toward Alabama.

In America, the family has to start anew, where they discover the coldness of its strangers, the dullness of its food, the strange shape of its landscape . . . and the strength of their very own family.

“Oh, my daughter,
at times you have to fight,
but preferably
not with your fists.”

I wasn’t expecting to read this so fast, but I simply could not put it down. I especially appreciated the love this family held for one another during such difficult times.

However, the format of the story made me feel a bit disconnected from the tale. I felt like I was getting a glimpse into someone’s life, but not being fully immersed into it. I wanted to feel more connected to the family and know a bit more of their past.

But overall it was a poignant and important story that will be on my mind for the next few days.

3.5/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Inside Out & Back Again , just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

