Review: Archie, Vol. 1: The New Riverdale by Mark Waid

I absolutely loved the art in Saga, so when I saw that Fiona Staples contributed to this story, I just had to pick it up.

And the art in Archie was just as stunningly beautiful as it was in Saga.

Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 14.15.08This review contains *spoilers*.

Also, I think I’m a little in love with Archie’s food-loving best friend, Jughead.

Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 14.15.36

Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 14.18.20

I really liked getting some background on him, even if it broke my heart a little.

Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 14.30.20

This volume, however, focuses mainly on Archie’s journey throughout the new school year, bringing with it daunting new challenges and interesting changes for the teens of Riverdale High.

But there’s one thing that remains constant: Archie’s car is still a piece of garbage! With car problems comes money problems, which means that Archie’s on the hunt for a new job.

Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 14.31.43

It also highlights various friendships and relationships, my favorite one being between Archie and Betty. (Whether they decide to remain friends or start their relationship anew, I’m there.)

Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 16.27.22

Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 16.25.56

Then we finally find out what drove Archie and Betty apart—aka the “Lipstick Incident.”

(Also, the art style changed here which really threw me out of the loop for a second.)

Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 16.32.35

But overall, I was thoroughly impressed with how this volume played out and cannot wait to pick up the next one!

And here’s some bonus Jughead content because why not?

Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 16.15.10

4/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Archie, Vol. 1, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

