Review: Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life by Bryan Lee O’Malley

DNF at page 54.

aee0c8e0-e859-0132-4671-0ebc4eccb42f(This was exactly what I was feeling while reading Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life.)

I actually tried watching the movie a while back, but it made me really, really uncomfortable. And the same happened while reading the graphic novel.

I wanted to read it because I really liked Seconds, but I guess I somehow forgot that the movie was based off of a graphic novel. And I hadn’t made the connection between the two until I started reading and feeling really ( and I mean really) uneasy.

I was uncomfortable with the fact that Scott Pilgrim, a 23 year old, was dating a high schooler. I just personally can’t stand by that (even if he is incredibly immature).

tumblr_le4oa5o6kf1qao2el

I mean, just looking at him waiting for Knives to finish her day at school made me want to throw up a little.

Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 12.25.00

Never has a book made me this physically uncomfortable. Wow.

Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 12.28.55

I was so close to giving up after this section and I kept thinking, “I don’t hate myself this much, I can put it down.”

Maybe it’s a personal thing, but I just can’t get over how uncomfortable my reading experience was.

Example number 20 of Scott’s immaturity:

Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 12.37.15Really, ‘no girls allowed’??? How old are you???

I was holding on for it to get better, but then stuff like this gets thrown in, and I’m just not about that life.

Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 12.47.28There wasn’t even one likeable character. ONE.

I’m truly perplexed at how different Seconds is compared to this catastrophe. Even the humor is on extremely different levels. I just don’t get how the same person wrote this.

I'm_so_mad_right_now

1/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

