Review: Talking Pictures by Ransom Riggs

“Sometimes a word is worth a thousand pictures.”

Talking Pictures is a haunting collection of antique found photographs—with evocative inscriptions that bring these lost personal moments to life.

“The best inscriptions make a snapshot feel current, no matter when it was taken.”

I absolutely loved the introduction to this story. In a short amount of pages Ransom Riggs managed to make me feel hopeful, fearful and, for a split second, tearful.

“Maybe the picture is blurred because she couldn’t stop her hands from shaking as she took it. We’ll never know, but thanks to the inscription on the back we can at least wonder. It lent the mutest of snapshots a voice.”

I personally love looking at old family pictures of mine to see what’s changed, so this was truly an insightful take on such an interesting subject.

And I have a feeling that the pictures included in this collection will stay with me for a very long time.

Here’s some of my personal favorites out of the collection:

Screen Shot 2016-05-27 at 14.59.04Screen Shot 2016-05-27 at 14.54.15Screen Shot 2016-05-27 at 14.53.19Screen Shot 2016-05-27 at 14.06.16Screen Shot 2016-05-27 at 14.41.19Screen Shot 2016-05-27 at 14.40.33Screen Shot 2016-05-27 at 14.34.22

They’re true hidden gems that made me laugh and cry and contemplate, and I’m just really thankful that this book exists.

“Before you throw anything out, be sure to glance at the back.”

4/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Talking Pictures, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

