Review: The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

“While I’m gone,” Gansey said, pausing, “dream me the world. Something new for every night.”

tumblr_inline_nuinj9nkqs1qb0zgx_500This review contains *spoilers*.

The Dream Thieves picks up right where The Raven Boys left off.
Gansey still searches the mountains of Virginia for the legendary Welsh king Glendower, a quest made more plausible by the group’s discovery of a creepy, sentient, magical forest called Cabeswater.
But in this book, all of this takes a back seat to Ronan’s confession on the last page of The Raven Boys: he can take things out of his dreams.

I’ve had trouble sleeping lately, so I found Ronan’s dreams and the whole process of taking something from the dreams really intriguing.
But while this book did not help with increasing my sleep (I stayed up way too late because of this book), it did help with feeling a little relieved that my nightmares can’t come to life.

10143213

“In that moment, Blue was a little in love with all of them. Their magic. Their quest. Their awfulness and strangeness. Her raven boys.”
Right there with you, Blue.
I really appreciated how natural the friendships between the boys and Blue felt. The raven boys all hold a special place in my heart (especially Ronan). They are so complex and dynamic and beautiful.

Ronan Lynch is incredibly charming in a way that’s physically painful to me, and he’s funny, and so, so sweet underneath all his hard exterior. I’m just really attached to him— I’m kind of scared of how close I feel to him. At this point I don’t even think of him as a character in a book, he feels so real.
And I loved that we got to read more of his point of view.

“At night, the longing for home was ceaseless and omniscient, an airborne contaminant. He saw it in Dollar City’s cheap oven mitts — that was his mother at dinnertime. He heard it in the slam of the cash register drawer — that was his father coming home at midnight. He smelled it in the sudden whiff of air freshener — that was the family trips to New York.”
I love Ronan. So much.

14272460

And Adam continues to break pieces of my heart. I completely understood how he was feeling at the beginning of the story and I really felt for him and the financial situation he was in.
“People who said money couldn’t buy everything hadn’t seen anyone as rich as the Aglionby boys. They were untouchable, immune to life’s troubles. Only death couldn’t be swiped away by a credit card.”

But I wished he would be less angry to the people that really cared about him.

“He became aware that Blue was watching him, her lips pursed, eyebrows tight.
“Don’t look at me like that,” he said.
“Like what? I’m not allowed to be worried about you?”
Heat hissed through his voice. “I don’t want your pity.”
If Gansey wasn’t allowed to pity him, Blue sure as hell wasn’t allowed to. She and Adam were in the same boat, after all. Wasn’t she on her way to work, the same as he’d just come from it?
Blue said, “Then don’t be pitiful!”

tumblr_inline_nykefv0zbe1sxw3ji_500
Also, Ronan returning to his childhood home was something I didn’t know I needed until it appeared in the book.

Gansey looked at Ronan.
Ronan rubbed a studious thumb beneath one of the leather straps, wiping away the grime and sweat. He wondered when he’d ever be back. Softly, just for Gansey, he asked, “Can I go and see Mom?”

If before I didn’t love him so much that my heart hurt, I certainly did after that part.
He showed this whole new side of himself and I’m crying.

tumblr_inline_nywnxcqpgx1sxw3ji_500

This book seriously increased my love for Ronan so much. And I’m totally going to listen to sappy love music because of him.

“It’s awake,” he said. Lifting his hand, he pressed the tiny body to his cheek so that he could feel the flutter of its rapid heartbeat against his skin. Blue was staring at him, so he offered it to her. “You can feel its heart that way.”
She looked suspicious. “Are you for real? Are you messing with me?”
“How do you figure?”
“You’re a bastard, and this doesn’t seem like a typical bastard activity.”
He smiled thinly. “Don’t get used to it.”
I love it when he smiles.

“Where Gansey’s ancestral home was a no-touch museum of elegant, remote things, the Barns was a warren of pool tables and quilts, video game cords and shoddily expensive leather couches.
Ronan loved it so much. He nearly couldn’t bear it. He wanted to destroy something.
This is how I feel about Ronan.

tumblr_mlvpiveecy1s9ya5bo1_500
I also still really enjoy Blue’s family. They feel so real and are so well written that I sometimes forget they only exist in this storyline.

Oh, and when the Gray Man started flirting with Maura over the phone I started laughing so hard. I had to no idea what to take from that conversation. But they actually surprised me with how well they went along.
Are they a thing now?

“Do you know, this is the first time I’ve seen you wearing shoes. Oh, so — what’s going on there?”
Maura glanced over her shoulder to where he pointed. A small, weary Ford had just pulled up behind the Gray Man’s rental car. “Oh, that’s Calla. She’s following us to the restaurant to make sure you’re really taking me there and not burying me in the woods.”
The Gray Man said, “How ridiculous. I never bury anybody.”
Calla gave a mean-spirited wave in his general direction. Her fingers were claws on the steering wheel.”
(I really liked Maura’s honesty when he took her out for dinner.)

Another part that made me laugh was when Noah and Blue were at Monmouth Manufacturing while Gansey and Ronan were away.

“Noah rubbed the smudge on his cheek. It didn’t go away. It never did. He said, “I know somebody you could kiss.”
“Who?” She realized his eyes were amused. “Oh, wait.”
He shrugged. He was maybe the only person Blue knew who could preserve the integrity of a shrug while lying down. “It’s not like you’re going to kill me. I mean, if you were curious.”

Noah surprised me so much when he said that. And Blue surprised me even more when she accepted.
The first kiss between them made me laugh so hard that tears started streaming down my eyes.
But with that last kiss they were incredibly sweet with each other.

“Blue gave him a watery smile. “That was super nice.”
He shrugged, eyes doleful, shoulders curled in on themselves. He was fading. It wasn’t that she could see through him. It was that it was hard to remember what he looked like, even while she was looking at him. When he turned his head, she saw him swallow. He mumbled, “I’d ask you out, if I was alive.”
Nothing was fair.
“I’d say okay,” she replied.”
And now I’m crying again.

tumblr_m9sfojm6751r1i6qjo1_500
I was also glad that Blue finally admitted to herself that she had feelings for Gansey.
“As they baked in the sunlight, she let herself think it:
I have a crush on Richard Gansey.”
I really appreciate the fact that the romance is developing slowly, so that we can focus first on the chemistry between the characters.
But when it did shift to the romance between Gansey and Blue, it was so good.

“He closed his eyes and leaned, just a little, so that her palm was flat on his neck, fingers sprawled from his ear to his shoulder.
Everything in Blue was charged. Say something. Say something.
Gansey lifted her hand gently from his skin, holding it as formally as a dance. He put it against his mouth.
Blue froze. Absolutely still. Her heart didn’t beat. She didn’t blink. She couldn’t say don’t kiss me. She couldn’t even form don’t.
He just leaned his cheek and the edge of his mouth against her knuckles and then set her hand back.
“I know,” he said. “I wouldn’t.”
They left me completely breathless and so emotional.

Oh, and while I’m on the topic of people that make me feel really emotional, Ronan broke me in the best way towards the end.

“Ronan stretched out his arms. “What’s here, K? Nothing! No one!”
“Just us.”
There was a heavy understanding in that statement, amplified by the dream. I know what you are, Kavinsky had said.
“That’s not enough,” Ronan replied.
“Don’t say Dick Gansey, man. Do not say it. He is never going to be with you. And don’t tell me you don’t swing that way, man. I’m in your head.”
“That’s not what Gansey is to me,” Ronan said.
“You didn’t say you don’t swing that way.”
Ronan was silent. Thunder growled under his feet. “No, I didn’t.”
I love Ronan so, so much.
I feel like this review is just me gushing about Ronan, but he’s really worth all the gushing.

tumblr_inline_nzs0p6inxq1qzdapl_500
So this series is quickly becoming an all-time favorite of mine. There wasn’t even one dull moment in The Dream Thieves. I truly can’t believe it took me so long to start this incredible series.

5/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying The Dream Thieves, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

One thought on “Review: The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

Leave a Reply

