Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

‘Hey, Clark,’ he said. ‘Tell me something good.’

belle_book_gifThis review contains *spoilers*.

I decided to read this book right after watching the trailer and crying, partly because Mr. Bates from Downton Abbey was there (every single time he shows up- tears start streaming down my face) and partly because the story was so moving.
But I honestly did not expect this book to impact me this emotionally.

I thought Me Before You was going to be another book in the pile of books similar to John Green’s The Fault In Our Stars— but they cannot even compare in my eyes.
While TFIOS made me feel like an emotionless robot, Me Before You made me think and contemplate and feel so many things all at once- I cried and laughed and felt anxious and hopeful.
I just can’t get over how good this book is, it’s both sad and full of life.

747346

This story starts out with Lou Clark losing her job at The Buttered Bun tea shop and I could honestly really relate to the way she was feeling during that period, especially with the financial responsibility she held for her family. I’m glad she didn’t quit after her first day with Will.

After that memorable first day, she and Will start to get used to each other and even on occasion opening up a bit one with the other.

Nathan walked in as I was finishing the dishes. ‘He’s in a good mood,’ he said, as I handed him a mug.
‘Is he?’
‘He says you’re trying to poison him. But he said it – you know – in a good way.’

18100055

And what follows after that is a series of outings with Will, to try and make the 6 months that he has left as memorable as possible.
(Their second outing to the concert made me tear up, I could imagine it so vividly.)

‘So you’re not a classical music person.’
I looked into the rear-view mirror. Will was smiling.
‘I didn’t enjoy that in the slightest.’
‘I could tell.’
‘I especially didn’t enjoy that bit near the end, the bit where the violin was singing by itself.’
‘I could see you didn’t like that bit. In fact, I think you had tears in your eyes you hated it so much.’
1815888718158888
And I felt truly relieved when Patrick and Lou finally broke up — it was as if a huge weight had been lifted off of me.
I was waiting for it to happen throughout the whole book because I just felt extremely uncomfortable whenever Patrick showed up (especially on Lou’s birthday).
But all in all, there isn’t a word for this book that can describe just how much it meant to me. I felt really connected to Lou and Will and their families. Me Before You had extremely vivid characters, infectious humor, and bittersweet truth.
And that ending definitely crushed me even though I knew what was coming — it did not make it easier to read and experience. It hurts.

5792188

Oh, and do not listen to this song, unless you want to sob (like I did).

4/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Me Before You, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

