Review: Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

“Joana Vilkas, your daughter, your sister. She is salt to the sea.”

This review contains *spoilers*.

I’ve been waiting for this book ever since I finished reading Between Shades of Grey back in August.
I’ll admit that I had very high expections for this book and I’m glad that every single one of them was met. I could not stop reading Salt to the sea, I kept telling myself just one more chapter, just one more (we all know how well that works).

I enjoyed reading from every main character and wished we got to read at least one chapter from Ingrid’s point of view before she died.

I also really cared for Joana and Florian, Ruta Sepetys has a special talent for powerful romances. I can’t stop thinking about them.
There were so many compelling moments in this book with Joana and Florian and Emilia, I had tears streaming down my face for the last 100 pages.

“Joana still had her mother. Reuniting with her mother was her motivation. She would slay dragons to get to her. Mother was anchor. Mother was comfort. Mother was home. ”

Simply put, Salt to the Sea will be added to my favorites! I loved it.
THANK YOU RUTA FOR SAVING FLORIAN, BUT EMILIA- I was so sure that Emilia would reunite with her baby.

4.5/5 stars

ARC from Netgalley (Thank You).

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Salt to the Sea, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

