Review: Blankets by Craig Thompson

Screen Shot 2016-04-12 at 16.16.38

This book started out so deep and sad, I mean I was not even 20 pages in and I had already tears in my eyes. Going into this I was hesitant for reasons I don’t even recall, but Blankets really hit home for me.

It’s an emotional story following the lives of two brothers from childhood to adulthood. I was so into the story that I barely noticed the hours going by and I managed to finish it in one sitting.The storyline goes through different times without ever seeming abrupt, it had the perfect flow. And I’m getting really emotional just thinking about everything that happened.

I enjoyed the family parts of this story more than the relationship bits. So when Craig started to describe his girlfriend, Raina (a little to much for my likes), I started to lose my enthusiasm bit by bit. But it returned whenever the family showed up. Especially when the brothers were together, it broke my heart when I saw how distant they got with time. The parts from their childhood together were one of my favorites in this story.

Screen Shot 2016-04-12 at 15.43.00

It was a lonely, lovely, and comforting read that will definitely stay with me for a long time

Screen Shot 2016-04-12 at 16.24.14
4/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Blankets, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

