Review: Maus I by Art Spiegelman

Screen Shot 2016-04-12 at 09.46.43.pngMaus tells  the story of a Jewish survivor of Hitler’s Europe and his son, a cartoonist who tries to come to terms with his father’s story and history itself. This story left me speechless for a long time after I finished it. It is a serious piece of art that I feel no words of mine will do enough justice.

There were so many layers to the storyline and the transitions between the past and the current were incredible, I never felt bored or confused. The plot-line was definitely an emotional one because of how personal it was handled. I had to stop reading multiple times because of the sudden tears in my eyes. Maus was phenomenally crafted and I’m simply out of words.

Screen Shot 2016-04-12 at 10.00.51

Screen Shot 2016-04-12 at 10.01.294.5/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Maus I, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

