Review: Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

nimonabannerThis review contains *spoilers*.

I’ve been meaning to read this graphic novel for a few months now and I’m really happy that I finally did.
It had me hooked right from the beginning and wouldn’t let go till the end. I loved it!

This story follows Nimona, a shapeshifter, and Ballister Blackheart, a villain with a vendetta.
They are partnering up as sidekick and supervillain, and are about to wreak some serious havoc.
Their main mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are.

Reading Nimona was such an exhilarating journey. I felt as if I was right there with Ballister Blackheart and Nimona on their missions. They work so well together and their dialogue left me with the biggest smile on my face.

“What do you mean, there are rules? Why would you follow the rules? Isn’t that the whole point of being a villain, that you don’t follow the rules?”

I loved Nimona as a character, her enthusiasm, relatable humor, and her story really added depth to the plot.
She is as unique as the storyline.

nimona3_11
I also enjoyed Ballister and Goldenloin, even though they definitely had a complicated journey at the beginning, I really liked them together.
They reminded me a bit of Baz and Simon from Carry On— I love them with all my heart.

Oh, and Doctor Blitzmeyer was a very pleasant surprise. I enjoyed reading about her and I would have loved it if Noelle Stevenson had added her journey to uncover the Anomalous Energy Enhancer.

Blitzmeyer and Ballister.jpg
That ending left me in tears, I couldn’t believe it when Nimona didn’t get a happy ending. I was incredibly sad about it, that was such an emotional part of the story. I was just listening to sad music with tears in my eyes.

“Despite this tragedy, we remain united. We will stay strong, and we will rebuild.”
But I kept thinking (until the very last page) ‘what about Nimona? She was left all alone at the end.’

nim249_1

I was so thankful for the epilogue. I really thought for a second there that Noelle Stevenson would leave it on a cliffhanger.
So I’ve heard great things about this graphic novel, but the one that really got my attention was Rainbow Rowell’s blurb on the cover: “Full of humor and heart”. I couldn’t agree more with her, she summed it perfectly up in just those 5 words.
Nimona was an adventurous, heart-gripping, and humorous story — with amazing artwork. I love it!
Definitely a book that lived up to the hype.

000023-9yxch3mn10
4/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Nimona, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

