Review: Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

However Elena changed or grew, Star Wars seemed to be there for her in a new way. 

tumblr_n9nbs9gh0y1rxevt4o1_5001

Just when I thought Rainbow Rowell couldn’t get any better, she releases a new story.
Her books are magical. Rainbow is magic. She has this incredible way of drawing the reader into the story and once inside it— never being able to let go (the best feeling!!). I constantly think about her characters. They’re always somewhere in my head. And I love it.
I love knowing that no matter what state of mind I’m in, I can always turn to Rainbow Rowell’s stories and they will automatically cheer me up.

giphy

Another thing I love about Rainbow’s characters is how real they are. Whenever I talk about the characters in her books, I feel weird when I realize they don’t actually exist in the real world (unfortunately so). Rainbow Rowell truly knows how to write an amazing story.

In this particular short story, we follow Elena waiting in line to see the newly released Star Wars movie.
I really appreciated the love the main character has for movies. I could relate to her on so many levels.

“Elena couldn’t remember the first time she saw a Star Wars movie . . . in the same way she couldn’t remember the first time she saw her parents. Star Wars had just always been there. There was a stuffed Chewbacca in her crib.”

The humor, the honesty, and the love that Rainbow captures in this story is phenomenal. I lost count of how many times I smiled and sighed happily. I loved every second I spent reading this book and I wished it would never end.
I finished this book with tears in my eyes (happy tears of course).

giphy1

I’m also really glad that I decided to reread Carry On before starting Kindred Spirits because it put me in the perfect Rainbow Rowell mood.
Her stories are so sweet and heartwarming.

I seriously cannot get enough of her books, they all hold a special place in my heart. Her stories are the ones that got me into reading and I cannot thank her enough for that. If not for Rainbow, I wouldn’t have discovered this incredible world that books provide you with. She opened up my eyes when I needed it the most and for that I will always feel grateful.

ron-moved

I need more Rainbow in my life.

4/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Kindred Spirits, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

