Review: Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol

“You’re no saint, Anya.
       You’re just like me.”

This story follows Anya Borzakovskaya who’s an immigrant from Russia, residing in the United States, alongside her mother and brother.
Anya isn’t doing particularly well in school. She doesn’t have many friends. And one day while she’s feeling particularly blue about her life, she falls into a deep hole in the ground. Underground she meets Emily, a 90 year old ghost.

11268050
This graphic novel not only focuses on a creepy, old ghost- it also talks about Anya’s self-image and her journey towards accepting herself. I could really relate to how Anya was feeling, and I’m glad that she gradually started to accept her background and history over the course of this story.

It was a quick read that I had been looking forward to for months now.
But the whole story with Emily, the ghost, didn’t really move or excite me (I do have to admit that I couldn’t read this at night—Ghosts scare me!).

Oh, and Anya’s beep test in gym class brought back those horrible memories of my test.
It’s been years but that beep test still haunts me.

anyasghost08

3.5/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Anya’s Ghost, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

