Review: Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

“Every story needs a Hero.”

This review contains spoilers.

I honestly wasn’t planning on reading this book, yet the first sentence pulled me right in and I’m glad that it did, but this book was so strange.

The first 50 pages really held my attention and it felt like the start of a great book, but then it started to lose its magic bit by bit with the characters.

We have 3 main characters: Wink, Poppy, and Midnight.

“A hero. A villain. A liar. Who’s who?” (I still have no idea)

Wink is the odd, mysterious next-door neighbour from a big family.

I didn’t quite know what to take from Wink’s character, but the more I got into the story, the more interested I got in her.

She’ll definitely be on my mind for the next few days.

What I initially liked was that her family gave off a very similar feel that Blue’s family gave me in The Raven Cycle (I really liked that I got to see the famous tarot cards in a different world). But then we never got to see much of the family as the main focus in on Wink, Poppy, and Midnight.

And looking back I can firmly say that I only took interest in Wink because of her family, and the fact that they reminded me of my favorite characters that are set in a completely different world (and yes, I will always find a way to mention The Raven Cycle).

But one part I didn’t really get was why Wink and Midnight got romantically involved the day he moved next door, they seemed better off as friends. Especially when he kept comparing between Wink and Poppy.

“I turned, so I could see her face. The summer sun was bringing out Wink’s freckles. They were darker than they had been just a few days ago. Her freckled skin was so different from Poppy’s perfect milky white. And I liked it. I liked it so much it hurt.”

After finishing the book I still have no idea why Midnight and Wink got together. It all just happened too fast. Strange, strange, strange.

Also, Midnight’s character was a little over the top for me. He compares himself to his half-brother, Alabama, one too many times and his pretentiousness was a little too much.

“I want to be a treasure hunter.”  I probably should have said something realistic and normal. Something like “professional soccer player” or “film director” or “private investigator.”                         I waited for her to laugh. Poppy would have laughed. But Wink just looked at me. “I don’t want to find relics, though, like the Arc of the Covenant. I want to find music, and art. I want to find lost Bach compositions in German monasteries. I want to track down the missing paintings of Vermeer and Rembrandt, and the lost plays of Shakespeare. I want to crawl through castles and dig through attics and search through cellars.”

And, of course, Poppy– just thinking about her makes me extremely uncomfortable because everything she did was either extremely immature or petty.

“It was coming back, the feeling from earlier, the calm, peaceful feeling . . .                                   Laughter.                                                                                                                                                                               I looked up. The Yellows were staring at us. Poppy too. She said something and they laughed again. And then she repeated it. Louder. “I bet Feral Bell has little-girl underwear on. I bet she still wears white cotton panties with polka dots or butterflies. What do you say, Yellows? Should we find out?”

I’m glad her chapters weren’t too long. But when she disappeared towards the end, the plot started to really disappoint. It felt drawn-out and the disappearance added unnecessary conflicts.

tumblr_ngebhuat8d1qjgyvoo1_500

And there was this one part that stood out to me for its ridiculousness—when Poppy “spoke” from Wink’s body, I kept imagining it as that one scene from The Suite Life of Zack & Cody:

f5n7va

But those 50 last pages really, really confused me. I literally have no idea what happened and it’s kind of making me mad.

What happened with Wink?

Why is no one mad at her?

What happened between Wink and Poppy?

tumblr_m5exhwtj7t1rxpohzo1_250

So I was really hoping to like this book because of its strong start, but I was unfortunately mislead.

Wink Poppy Midnight was a different and strange read, and I’m just really glad that it was a short book.

But while the characters definitely irritated me for the majority of the storyline, they did leave me thinking about them for a long time afterwards (I’m still trying to decided if that’s a good thing) (probably not).

1/5 stars

Note: I’m an Amazon Affiliate. If you’re interested in buying Wink Poppy Midnight, just click on the image below to go through my link. I’ll make a small commission!

Leave a Reply

